I’m new to the concept of electric vehicles

MelissaP

Jul 23, 2021
IL
I’m sure I sound dumb asking this, but I’m trying to figure out what all the costs come with investing in an electric truck. I’m loving the capability& functionality of the lightening. So my question is….how do we charge them if there aren’t any charging stations where we live? Can they be plugged in to our house directly? Or do we have to install a charging station? If so, does anyone know where we would get something like that from?

wired

Ford Lightning Forum
Staff member
May 21, 2021
USA
I’m sure I sound dumb asking this, but I’m trying to figure out what all the costs come with investing in an electric truck. I’m loving the capability& functionality of the lightening. So my question is….how do we charge them if there aren’t any charging stations where we live? Can they be plugged in to our house directly? Or do we have to install a charging station? If so, does anyone know where we would get something like that from?

Welcome to the forum @MelissaP - We are all here to learn, so don't hesitate to ask any questions about the new Lightning!

frunk

Jun 11, 2021
Another cost is insurance. It was real Hight when I checked a few years ago for the Tesla with the aluminum frame but I called AARP to see what it was going to cost me. After a 1/2 hour they came up with an estimate. I was surprised. I have a 2008 Lariat supercrew and to go to the Ford Lightning at the $40,000 level it is $about $300 a year more and for the $80 to $90,000 level it was $500 to $600 more a year. I have no wecks or tickets in the past 5 years. I really think it is going to be cheaper to drive an EV

FunWDirt

Sep 17, 2021
Georgia, USA